Dean le Pere

Old Media is Dead, long live New Media

In life, RSS Feeds, Technology, Twitter on April 20, 2010 at 07:20

[tweetmeme source=”deanlepere” only_single=false http://www.URL.com]TV News

Last night I sat down to watch the news on TV at 19:00, because I was really interested to see if the SAMWU strike was over, and guess what. I already knew all the news they were telling. And I knew it already because of the internet.

Now I know this may not be very noteworthy for most people. Because with the internet we are able see and read the news ourselves at any time of the day or night. No longer do we need to wait for 19:00 in the evening to watch the news on TV. No longer do we need to tune into out favorite radio station every 30 or so minutes to hear the news. Nope, we just have open up a web browser and visit a news website site and there we have the latest and most up to date news available to us.
Now I have had access to the internet for years, but only yesterday did I realize that I no longer need to watch the news at 19:00 to see what’s going on around me. Why is this?

Well two things actually made this possible:
1)      Twitter, and
2)      RSS Feeds

1)      With Twitter I follow people with like interests to me, and they often post links to new articles about topics that I am interested in. This allows me to read the news as it happens and often in one day there are updates to that one story. So I am able to follow that story’s progress and engage in twitter conversations around that topic. This then give me more than the news but allows me to grow as a person as I engage with other folks about what’s happening around us.

2)      With RSS Feeds I am able to see new posts to websites and blogs and so am always aware of new things that are happening. It saves me from having to always go to a particular site to see if they have anything new posted.News OnlineAnd these two tools I have only started using for 1 week now. In that week I have posted 100 tweets, started following 112 people and have 47 followers. I love information and we are living in the information age guys. So if you have not yet caught on to the information age, best you catch a wake up and get on board lest you get left behind.

You can follow me on Twitter by clicking on my follow me link to the right.

What do you think, do we still need old media or has new media taken over?

  1. Agree with a lot of what you said. I also find alot out by listening to the radio – thanks to traffic jams

Leave a Reply

